Hey, I am glad you are here. Can you please support us by liking our Facebook page HERE

South Africa’s Department of Basic Education (DBE) has announced that not all learners will return to school on Monday 6 July.

According to the announcement, the new developments affect all grades except R, 6, and 11 learners who will return to school on Monday 6 July in all provinces across the country. The Department of Basic Education had previously announced that Grade R, 1, 2, 3, 6, 10, and 11 learners would all return to school on 6 July.

The four school terms for 2020 are structured as follows:

  • Term 1: 15 January – 18 March
  • Term 2: 8 June – 7 August
  • Term 3: 12 August – 23 September
  • Term 4: 5 October – 15 December

This means that there will not be a normal school holiday between terms 2 and 3 as there is just one day and the other being a public holiday.

Also Read: Big problems with UIF relief fund – Here’s why you haven’t received your June payout

DBE minister Angie Motshekga said that reopening phases will be adjusted based on the risk-adjusted strategy, which is a considered attempt to balance the Department of Basic Education’s approach to school reopening taking into account all factors that affect the work they department does.

Motshekga hosted the Council of Education Ministers (CEM) today where five reports were received regarding key areas in the basic education sector.

The goal now for the Department is making sure all learners return to school by August 2020. However, the revised plans will only be announced to press over the weekend.

Save this post and check back for more updates:

Comments to: Back to School dates changed for certain grades due to rise in Covid-19 infections

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Attach images - Only PNG, JPG, JPEG and GIF are supported.


Welcome to Typer

Brief and amiable onboarding is the first thing a new user sees in the theme.
Join Typer
Registration is closed.