President Ramaphosa has just announced that South Africa will move to Lockdown level 3 effective 1st of June 2020.

The President also highlighted that there are some Coronavirus hotspots in South Africa where the government will take a different approach when moving to Lockdown level 3 on 1 June 2020. These locations are deemed as hotspots because they have more cases than other locations and these cases keep increasing every day at an increasing rate.

“The list of hotspot areas will be reviewed every two weeks, depending on the progression of the virus,” said Ramaphosa.

The following metros and municipalities will have a different approach in Lockdown level 3.

  • Tshwane
  • Johannesburg
  • Ekurhuleni
  • eThekwini
  • Nelson Mandela Bay
  • Buffalo City
  • Cape Town

President Cyril Ramaphosa also noted that if necessary, part of the country could be returned to alert levels 4 or 5 if the spread of infection is not contained despite interventions.

Comments to: South Africa moves to level 3 of the lockdown on 1 June

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Attach images - Only PNG, JPG, JPEG and GIF are supported.


Welcome to Typer

Brief and amiable onboarding is the first thing a new user sees in the theme.
Join Typer
Registration is closed.